• Print Page

Shaun M. Snyder Wins as D.C. Bar President-Elect

June 08, 2023

Shaun M. SnyderShaun M. Snyder, executive director of the National Association of State Treasurers, has been elected president-elect of the D.C. Bar for the 2023–2024 term. He will serve in that position for one year starting July 1 before becoming president in 2024. With Snyder’s election, incumbent President-Elect Charles R. Lowery Jr., senior policy director at the National Housing Conference, will become the Bar’s 52nd president.

Snyder has served the D.C. Bar in many capacities, including as treasurer (2020–2021, 2022–2023) and as member of the executive, budget, and finance committees of the D.C. Bar Board of Governors.

“I’m incredibly excited. I’ve served as treasurer for two terms now, which has allowed me to see just how much the Bar does for its members and the D.C. area community, generally. The fact that I have been elected and will be able to serve three more years on the Board of Governors, helping to support the Bar, is just super exciting to me, and I’m very appreciative to the members for electing me,” Snyder said.

“My campaign platform focused on increasing member engagement as well as encouraging greater participation by our members in pro bono and access to justice initiatives,” he added. “I’m looking forward to doing everything I can, working with our fantastic staff, to showcase the great member benefits the Bar has to offer, as well as working with them to meet the significant need we have in our community for legal support services.”

Snyder brings to the president-elect position a wealth of professional experience. He previously served as COO of the American Psychiatric Association, COO and interim director of the D.C. Department of Health, special assistant to the general counsel at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, and legislative counsel for the D.C. Council.

Snyder holds an MBA from George Washington University and a J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center. He was named a Certified Association Executive by the American Society of Association Executives.

Also elected to one-year terms were, as treasurer, Alicia M. Long of the U.S. Department of Justice and, as treasurer-elect, Mark A. Salzberg of Squire Patton Boggs.

Elected to the Bar’s Board of Governors for three-year terms were Courtney L. Weiner of the Law Office of Courtney Weiner PLLC, Ramya Ravindran of Bredhoff & Kaiser PLLC, Natalie M. Koss of Potomac Legal Group PLLC, Patrick C. English of Latham & Watkins LLP, and Lukman S. Azeez of Wiley Rein LLP.

Elected to the American Bar Association House of Delegates for two-year terms were Kerry K. Neal of the U.S. Department of Education and D. Jean Veta of Covington & Burling LLP. Josephine M. Bahn of Cozen O’Connor was elected as the Bar’s Under 36 delegate.

Members of the D.C. Bar Communities (practice specialty entities) also elected new steering committee members.

Of the 86,672 D.C. Bar members who were eligible to vote in the general election, 7,666 cast their ballots, for an 8.8 percent turnout. A complete breakdown of the election results follows.

President-Elect Shaun M. Snyder 3,868 Elected
  Alexander L. Reid 3,138  
Treasurer Alicia M. Long 4,496 Elected
  Nicholas W. Woodfield 2,444  
Treasurer-Elect Mark A. Salzberg 3,385 Elected
  Kevin Minsky 3,360  
Board of Governors Courtney L. Weiner 4,257 Elected
  Ramya Ravindran 3,399 Elected
  Natalie M. Koss 3,361 Elected
  Patrick C. English 2,990 Elected
  Lukman S. Azeez 2,843 Elected
  Wendy P. Fischman 2,742  
  Brooke T. Iley 2,695  
  Shayan Davoudi 2,630  
  Jason M. Gerson 2,590  
  Hardeep S. Grover 2,085  
ABA House of Delegates Kerry K. Neal 5,292 Elected
  D. Jean Veta 4,023 Elected
  Karen M. Roos 2,522  
ABA Under 36 Delegate Josephine M. Bahn 3,614 Elected
  Travis S. Nembhard 2,844  


Antitrust and Consumer Law Erin McNamee 64 Elected
Arts, Entertainment, Media and Sports Law Grayson Clary 43 Elected
  Chelsea Kelly 42 Elected
Corporation, Finance and Securities Law Gerald Hodgkins 89 Elected
  Thomas Bednar 85 Elected
  Lahdan Rahmati 77  
District of Columbia Affairs Ann Wilcox 42 Elected
Environment, Energy and Natural Resources Samuel Backfield 72 Elected
Estates, Trusts and Probate Law Amanda Odorimah 93 Elected
  Kevin Martin 48 Elected
Family Law Elizabeth Selmo 40 Elected
  Rachel De Rose 28 Elected
  Keely Magyar 24  
  Jessica Ornsby 16  
  Rachel Rubinstein 1  
Government Contracts Eric Hapner 50 Elected
Health Law John J. Gillon Jr. 57 Elected
Intellectual Property Law Lisa Schreihart 90 Elected
  Brian Malkin 81 Elected
  Jeffrey Licitra 80 Elected
International Law Andrea Al-Attar 61 Elected
  Olga Torres 43 Elected
  Jake Seaboch 37  
  Philip Land 24  
  Miriam Riedmiller 16  
Labor and Employment Law D'Ontae Sylvertooth 91 Elected
  Kel McClanahan 83 Elected
  Joseph Abboud 65 Elected
Law Practice Management L. A. Shannon Taylor 39 Elected
  Adaku Nwachukwu 35 Elected
  Pratibha Agarwal 23 Elected
Public Interest and Courts Bennett Rushkoff 43 Elected
Real Estate, Housing and Land Use Erica Litovitz 61 Elected
  Jordan Foster 60 Elected
  Charles Tolliver 41 Elected
  Shanice McClelland 23  
Taxation Loren Ponds 165 Elected
  Jorge Oben 137 Elected
  Raghav Agnihotri 117 Elected

All newly elected officers, board members, and delegates will be recognized at the D.C. Bar’s Celebration of Leadership on June 22 at the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel.

Recent News

Judge Jones Bosier

June 21, 2024

Tanya M. Jones Bosier, Judith Pipe Sworn in as Associate Judges

By John Murph

On June 21 D.C. Superior Court added two more judges to its roster, welcoming Tanya Monique Jones Bosier and Judith Pipe as its newest associate judges. Jones Bosier and Pipe, both former magistrate judges of the court, were sworn in by Chief Judge Anita Josey-Herring.


June 17, 2024

D.C. Bar Communities Announce Lawyer of the Year Awardees

The D.C. Bar Communities are recognizing 12 Communities members for their leadership in their respective practice areas, excellence in their professional and personal lives, and dedication to the mission of the D.C. Bar and its Communities.