Celebration of Leadership

  • Print Page
Celebration of Leadership

2022 Award Winners

Every year, the D.C. Bar honors those organizations and individuals who have gone above and beyond to advance the legal profession and enhance access to justice. Our annual awards recognize the best-of-the-best, shining a well-deserved spotlight on the exemplary work of our members and the D.C. legal community.

Elizabeth Lewis Award for Excellence in Continuing Legal Education
Amy MixAmy Mix
Chief, Elder Justice Section, Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia


Frederick B. Abramson Award
Darryl MaxwellD.C. Bar Pro Bono Center Training Program
Darryl Maxwell
Director of the D.C. Bar Pro Bono Center’s Nonprofit & Small Business Legal Assistance Programs


Community of the Year Award
Priya P. Royal and Oren GoldbergEstates, Trusts and Probate Law Community
ETPL Community leaders Priya P. Royal and Oren Goldberg


Voluntary Bar Association of the Year Award
Women’s Bar Association of the District of ColumbiaWomen’s Bar Association of the District of Columbia
Candace Beck and Bridget Bailey Lipscomb, WBA president for 2022–2023 and 2021–2022, respectively.


Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year Award
Jessica Hough, Donald Salzman, and Geoffrey WyattSkadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Skadden attorneys Jessica Hough, Donald Salzman, and Geoffrey Wyatt


Laura N. Rinaldi Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year Award
Cassandra RasmussenCassandra Rasmussen
Federal Trade Commission


Justice Thurgood Marshall Award
Judith SandalowJudith Sandalow
Executive Director, Children’s Law Center


Beatrice Rosenberg Award for Excellence in Government Service
Susan K. PascocelloSusan K. Pascocello
Senior Advisor, Office of the General Counsel, United States Agency for International Development