



Beatrice Rosenberg AWARD

The District of Columbia Bar is seeking nominations for the Beatrice Rosenberg Award for Excellence in Government Service.

The award is named for late D.C. Bar member Beatrice Rosenberg who dedicated her 35-year legal career to public service. Ms. Rosenberg served with distinction at the Department of Justice and at the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. She also served as a member of the Board on Professional Responsibility of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals.

Bea Rosenberg upheld a high standard of performance throughout her legal career and was recognized for her dedication to her job and the legal profession, her contribution to the community and her dedication to the law and the pursuit of justice. She also served as a mentor to younger lawyers whose careers advanced significantly as a result of her tutelage. Ms. Rosenberg died in 1989 at the age of eighty-one.

PURPOSE

To recognize a member of the D.C. Bar whose career contributions to the government exemplify the highest order of public service. This year's award will be presented at the *2025 Celebration of Leadership:* the D.C. Bar's Annual Meeting and Awards Presentation, to be held on Thursday, June 26, 2025.

AWARD CRITERIA FOR NOMINEES

- Member of the D.C. Bar
- Personifies excellence in government service
- Currently or previously employed by a federal, state, or local government agency
- Long-term career in government with an outstanding level of performance and demonstrated excellent judgment in matters handled individually and by those under the direction of the nominee.

Nominees who have provided service to the community and/or bar associations and have acted as a role model or mentor to co-workers and more junior lawyers will be considered favorably in the selection process.

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS

- Nomination form
- Resume of the nominee

Nominations for the 2024 Bea Rosenberg Award may be submitted online by completing the form on the Bar's website at www.dcbar.org/about/awards.

DEADLINE: February 5, 2025

For more information, please e-mail awards@dcbar.org or visit our website at www.dcbar.org/about/awards

PREVIOUS AWARD RECIPIENTS

1990	Hon.	William	C.	Bryson	U.S.	Department of Justic	се

- 1991 Charles L. Reischel District of Columbia Government
- 1992 Linda Sher National Labor Relations Board
- 1993 Anne H. Shields U.S. Department of Justice
- 1994 Jean R. Bower Superior Court of the District of Columbia
- 1995 Eric H. Holder Jr. U.S. Attorney for the District of Columbia
- 1996 John C. Keeney U.S. Department of Justice
- 1997 Elizabeth A. Noel District of Columbia Government
- 1998 Mark M. Richard U.S. Department of Justice
- 1999 Rosalind A. Knapp U.S. Department of Transportation
- 2000 Hon. Ruth C. Burg Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals
- 2001 Robert E. Kopp U.S. Department of Justice
- 2002 Luis E. Rumbaut District of Columbia Government
- 2003 Lawrence G. Wallace U.S. Department of Justice
- 2004 Richard S. Love District of Columbia Government
- **2005** Kathryn A. Ellis U.S. Department of Education
- 2006 Stuart E. Schiffer U.S. Department of Justice
- 2007 James H. Thessin U.S. Department of State
- 2008 Charlotte Brookins-Hudson Council of the District of Columbia
- 2009 Catherine G. O'Sullivan U.S. Department of Justice
- 2010 Harry J. Fulton Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia
- 2011 Paul S. Koffsky U.S. Department of Defense
- **2012** Patricia A. Riley U.S. Attorney's Office for the District of Columbia
- **2013** Francine J. Kerner U.S. Department of Homeland Security
- 2014 Col. Tonya Hagmaier U.S. Air Force
- 2015 Daniel L. Koffsky U.S. Department of Justice
- 2016 Mary McLeod U.S. Department of State
- 2017 John C. Cruden U.S. Department of Justice
- 2018 John A. Casciotti U.S. Department of Defense
- 2019 Anne M. Brennan U.S. Navy
- 2020 Douglas N. Letter U.S. Department of Justice
- Mary Catherine Malin U.S. Department of State and George C. Valentine District of Columbia Government (posthumously)
- 2022 Susan K. Pascocello U.S. Agency for International Development
- 2023 Patricia A. McKenna U.S. Department of Justice
- 2024 Paul M. Geier U.S. Department of Transportation