



Justice William J. Brennan Jr. AWARD

The District of Columbia Bar is seeking nominations for the 2025 recipient of the Justice William J. Brennan Jr. Award.

The award recognizes a member of the D.C. Bar who has shown extraordinary commitment and initiative in pursuing equal justice and opportunity for all Americans.

The award was established in 1993 and is presented in alternating years as the William J. Brennan Jr. Award or Thurgood Marshall Award. The D.C. Bar seeks a candidate who has demonstrated exceptional achievement in the pursuit of equal justice in the areas of civil rights, individual liberties, and the public interest, and who has made a significant, positive impact on the quality of administration of justice.

The Brennan Award will be presented at the 2025 Celebration of Leadership: the D.C. Bar's Annual Meeting and Awards Presentation, to be held on June 26, 2025.

ALL NOMINEES MUST BE MEMBERS OF THE D.C. BAR.

To nominate a qualified candidate, please submit a copy of the nominee's résumé and the nomination form. Nominations for the 2025 William J. Brennan Jr. Award may be submitted online by completing the form on the Bar's website at www.dcbar.org/about/awards.

DEADLINE: February 5, 2025

For more information, please e-mail awards@dcbar.org or visit our website at www.dcbar.org/about/awards.

The Bar believes in the importance and value of public service, and we present the Brennan Award biennially with the admiration and gratitude of our legal community.

RRENNAN AWARD RECIPIENTS

DREININAIN AWARD RECH IEI 15	
1993	Elaine R. Jones, Director-Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
1994	Marcia D. Greenberger and Nancy Duff Campbell, Co-Presidents, National Women's Law Center
1995	Alan B. Morrison, Staff Attorney, Public Citizen Litigation Group
1996	Hon. William B. Bryant, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia
1997	Antonia Hernandez, President and General Counsel, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)
1998	John H. Pickering, D.C. Bar President 1979-80; (Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering)
1999	Hon. John M. Ferren, Senior Judge, District of Columbia Court of Appeals
2000	James M. Nabrit III, former Associate Director and Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
2001	Charles T. Duncan, D.C. Bar President 1973-74; Trustee, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
2002	Wade Henderson, Executive Director, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights
2003	Hon. Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Supreme Court of the United States
2005	Peter B. Edelman, Professor, Georgetown University Law Center; Chair, Access to Justice Commission
2007	James W. Klein, Chief of the Appellate Division, Public Defender Service of the District of Columbia
2009	Patricia "Patty" Mullahy Fugere, Co-founder, Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless; Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University Law Center; Access to Justice Commission
2011	Maureen Thornton Syracuse, Executive Director, D.C. Bar Pro Bono Program
2013	Walter A. Smith Jr., Executive Director, D.C. Appleseed Center for Law and Justice
2015	James J. Sandman, President, Legal Services Corporation
2017	Jonathan M. Smith, Executive Director, Washington Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights & Urban Affairs
2019	Michele Zavos, Delaney McKinney LLP
2021	David Reiser Zuckerman Snaeder IIP

Jon S. Bouker, ArentFoxSchiff LLP

2023