District of Columbia Bar Board of Governors Meeting July 16, 2019

Call to Order (Agenda Item 1)

President Susan M. Hoffman called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone.

Other members of the Board of Governors who attended the meeting were President-Elect Geoffrey M. Klineberg, Immediate Past-President Esther H. Lim, Treasurer Richard V. Rodriguez, Secretary Courtney L. Weiner, Jessica E. Adler, David W. Arrojo (by phone), Rodney J. Bosco, Elizabeth "Lisa" R. Dewey, A.J. S. Dhaliwal, Elizabeth "Sally" Gere, Theodore A. Howard, Su Sie Ju, June B. Kress, Megan Lacchini, Paul S. Lee, Amy E. Nelson, Peggy Lansbach O'More, Saleema Snow, and Keiko K. Takagi. Board members Bridget Rowan, Leslie T. Thornton, and Benjamin F. Wilson did not attend the meeting.

D.C. Bar staff who attended the meeting were Chief Executive Officer Robert J. Spagnoletti, D.C. Bar Pro Bono Center Executive Director Rebecca K. Troth, Carla J. Freudenberg, Alana Hyman, Jeffery Leon, Margarita Lorenzetti, Caterina Luppi, Lisa Martin-Morina, Maurice Morrow, Karen Savransky, Candace Smith-Tucker, Darrin P. Sobin, Crystal White, and Adriana Zick.

President's Report (Agenda Item 2)

President Hoffman presented her report. Immediate Past-President Lim congratulated President Hoffman and D.C. Bar staff on a successful Presidents' Reception.

Consent Agenda (Agenda Item 3)

President Hoffman presented the Consent Agenda to the Board, which approved the minutes of the June 4, 2019, meeting. The Board also approved appointments to the Audit, Executive, Pension, and Screening Committees, and the Compensation Subcommittee of the Executive Committee, as follows:

– AUDIT COMMITTEE

- Esther H. Lim (Immediate Past-President and Chair—ex officio)
- Jessica E. Adler
- Leslie T. Thornton
- Jonathan Kossak
- Keiko K. Takagi
- Courtney L. Weiner

- EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

- o Susan M. Hoffman (President and Chair—ex officio)
- Geoffrey M. Klineberg (*President-Elect—ex officio*)
- o Esther H. Lim (Immediate Past-President—ex officio)
- Elizabeth ("Lisa") Dewey
- Su Sie Ju
- Leslie T. Thornton
- Benjamin F. Wilson

- COMPENSATION SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

- Susan M. Hoffman (*President and Chair—ex officio*)
- Geoffrey M. Klineberg (*President-Elect—ex officio*)
- Esther H. Lim (Immediate Past-President—ex officio)
- Elizabeth ("Sally") Gere
- Saleema Snow

– PENSION COMMITTEE

- Esther H. Lim (Immediate Past-President and Chair—ex officio)
- Susan M. Hoffman (President—ex officio)
- David W. Arrojo (new)
- Leslie T. Thornton (*incumbent*)
- Saleema Snow (incumbent)

- SCREENING COMMITTEE

- Paul S. Lee (*Chair*)
- Jessica E. Adler
- Elizabeth ("Lisa") Dewey
- June B. Kress
- *To be appointed:* Member, 2018-19 Committee on Nominations

See Tab 3.

Treasurer's Report (Agenda Item 4)

Treasurer Rodriguez presented his report on the financials for the period ending May 31,

2019, after which he and CEO Spagnoletti fielded questions from the Board.

See Tab 4.

CEO's Report (Agenda Item 5)

CEO Spagnoletti presented his report and highlighted the license renewal, community membership, and program participation statistics. He also summarized the online Certificate of Good Standing request numbers and current pricing. CEO Spagnoletti and Bar staff fielded questions from the Board.

See Tab 5.

Remarks and Swearing-In of the Board of Governors (Agenda Item 6)

Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby of the D.C. Court of Appeals gave brief remarks. President Hoffman and Immediate Past-President Lim thanked Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby for her service and leadership. Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby swore in members of the Board and congratulated them.

Proposed Strategic Planning Committee (Special) (Agenda Item 7)

President Hoffman presented the history of strategic planning initiatives by the Bar and

requested approval of the creation of a 2020 Strategic Planning Committee, a Special Committee.

President Hoffman fielded questions from the Board. The Board approved the creation of the

Committee, subject to later amendment to include non-lawyer members if deemed appropriate.

See Tab 7.

Proposal to Divide Finance and Budget Committee into Two Separate Committees (Agenda Item 8)

President Hoffman presented the background of the proposal. Following discussion, the

Board approved the separation of the committees. The Board also approved the following

committee appointments:

– BUDGET COMMITTEE

- Geoffrey M. Klineberg (*President-Elect and Chair—ex officio*)
- Susan M. Hoffman (*President—ex officio*)
- Richard V. Rodriguez (*Treasurer—ex officio*)
- Elissa Preheim (BPR designee)
- Theodore A. Howard
- Megan Lacchini
- Amy E. Nelson
- Rodney J. Bosco (*advisory*)

- FINANCE COMMITTEE

- Esther H. Lim (Immediate Past-President and Chair—ex officio)
- Richard V. Rodriguez (*Treasurer—ex officio*)
- A.J. Dhaliwal (incumbent—previously appointed)
- Bridget Rowan
- Leslie T. Thornton
- Rodney J. Bosco (advisory)

See Tab 8.

Executive Session (Agenda Item 9)

The Board met in Executive Session.

Adjournment (Agenda Item 10)

There being no further business, President Hoffman adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Courtny Weiner

Courtney L. Weiner Secretary